Thread: AutomaticMonkey: No-hole-card (OBO) and the "Monty Hall" puzzle

AutomaticMonkey

AutomaticMonkey: No-hole-card (OBO) and the "Monty Hall" puzzle

Could the no-hole-card way of dealing a game, where splits and doubles are not lost, change strategy against a 10 or ace when playing such a game?

My first thought is 'no', but being I am not good at mentally fathoming the Monty Hall problem, nor understanding why the push-22 rule changes strategy for BJ Switch (had to prove it to myself empirically with a sim) I'm open to the possibility that being you won't lose your extra bets when the dealer rolls a natural, the house edge on that extra bet becomes zero instead of 100% in case of a natural, and that dilutes the remaining probabilities to the point where the strategy changes.

The particular game I had in mind was Multiple Action, which is essentially a NHC game repeated 3 times.

Don Schlesinger

Don Schlesinger: Re: No-hole-card (OBO) and the "Monty Hall" puzzle

> Could the no-hole-card way of dealing a game, where
    > splits and doubles are not lost, change strategy
    > against a 10 or ace when playing such a game?

Short answer: no. See BJA3, pp. 51-52, for an analogous, albeit not exactly the same situation, discussion.

> My first thought is 'no',

Keep that thought! :-)

> but being I am not good at
    > mentally fathoming the Monty Hall problem,

Aw, sure you can. Try!

> nor understanding why the push-22 rule changes strategy
    > for BJ Switch (had to prove it to myself empirically
    > with a sim) I'm open to the possibility that being you
    > won't lose your extra bets when the dealer rolls a
    > natural, the house edge on that extra bet becomes zero
    > instead of 100% in case of a natural, and that dilutes
    > the remaining probabilities to the point where the
    > strategy changes.

Nope.

> The particular game I had in mind was Multiple Action,
    > which is essentially a NHC game repeated 3 times.