See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: HiLo vs Zen - I'm confused

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

HiLo vs Zen - I'm confused

I've been counting for about 6 months using HiLo with about 40 indices. I've been wondering if I should move up to a stronger count and I was leaning toward Zen. When I run the sim on CVCX however, it suggests that HiLo is better than Zen which doesn't make sense to me. The game I'm playing is 8D, 83% pen, S17, DAS, LS. My BR is 30K. I don't play at counts worse than -1. Assuming 70 rnds/hr and a 15:1 spread (ramp is 10,10,25,50,100,150 at TC +4), HiLo with full indices yields the following: $36.76 win/hr, 0.1% ROR, Score 64.25, N0 15,564.
    Zen with full indices (ramp of 10,10,10,225,50,75,100,125,150 at TC +7) gives $36.96/hr, 0.2% ROR, Score 56.45 and N0 17,716
    For both sims, I checked Backcount and set it to -1 with Departure adjust set to 2. I did not check Play two hands or Half true counts

I tried to capture the CVCX output and paste it here but couldn't figure out how to do so. Sorry.

I'd actually prefer to stick with HiLo so I'm fine if this is correct but I think I might be doing something wrong.

Thoughts?

Quote Originally Posted by Cardguy View Post
    I've been counting for about 6 months using HiLo with about 40 indices.
    Wow! I think I only know 27.

I've been wondering if I should move up to a stronger count and I was leaning toward Zen. When I run the sim on CVCX however, it suggests that HiLo is better than Zen which doesn't make sense to me. The game I'm playing is 8D, 83% pen, S17, DAS, LS. My BR is 30K. I don't play at counts worse than -1. Assuming 70 rnds/hr and a 15:1 spread (ramp is 10,10,25,50,100,150 at TC +4), HiLo with full indices yields the following: $36.76 win/hr, 0.1% ROR, Score 64.25, N0 15,564.
    Zen with full indices (ramp of 10,10,10,225,50,75,100,125,150 at TC +7) gives $36.96/hr, 0.2% ROR, Score 56.45 and N0 17,716