See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bankroll Question/Newbie

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Bankroll Question/Newbie

Hey guys,

Ok, as y'all may know I'm still fairly new to the BJ CC world. Been thinking about bankroll management and such and came across a certain question in my mind. At what point do you guys consider a win a win. I mean as far as dipping into winnings. At what point does one reward himself for all the hard work? I would really love to hear how you guys manage your BR. Do you start with $10,000 and call it good at $20,000, then look at it as doubling up, then go blow 10 grand ? Or do you take that $20,000 and keep going till you get to, $40,000 then 40 to 80 and so on, till you get to a certain point then start over?? Kinda lost here and hope I can some guidance for when the time comes to step up to the big leagues! Thanks in advance fellas!
    "You Win Some You Lose Some, As Long As The Outcome Is Income"

1 out of 2 members found this post helpful. Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
    Most AP's hold other jobs and treat gambling as a form of investment. One with this approach would likely keep adding to their BR until they got to a level that brought a very low risk and acceptable return, then they would attempt to keep it at that level with outside replenishment when needed. I would think a goal kelly value would be at least 1/4 kelly. Professional AP's need to pay themselves a portion of winnings, but also need to prevent from going bankrupt. Keep in mind over time a fixed bankroll of any amount has a 100% RoR. I don't know much about living off of gambling winnings so that's all I can add.
    Maman died today. Or yesterday maybe, I don't know.

Quote Originally Posted by muckz View Post
    Keep in mind over time a fixed bankroll of any amount has a 100% RoR.
    Huh? Unless Im misunderstanding what you are saying, this statement is very incorrect.