Thread: Total beginner's questions on Basic Strategy.

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Total beginner's questions on Basic Strategy.

Hello guys!

Well, you didn't think I have introduced myself just to chat, right? Now I need to explore you guys

I am trying to design BS and REKO strategy tables that suits me best. The truth is that for me it is not easy even to memorize BS, what to say of REKO-Full indexes!? So, although REKO-Full is light years ahead right now, I would like to prepare my study tables already. I want to print, plastify and carry them all the time with me to see if the rules and indexes enter my mind by osmosis

There are (for now) three situations that I haven't fully grasped:

- I read a great thread in this forum about this issue, but I must admit I don’t know the conclusion: should I hit or stand with 12 against 4 in REKO (not the full one) in low counts?
    - Should I treat the pair 5-5 exactly as a hard 10 in REKO? Meaning, should I double 5-5 at high counts against a 10 or an Ace; or should I just hit?

- Should I surrender the pair 7-7 against a 10 in high counts just as I would do with a hard 14? (this question is both for REKO and REKO-Full?

Well, I thank you in advance for any help.

Best of luck to you all!

I have the CV drills app for the ipad. By the app. The first day using it i could not remember half the strategy plays (FELT) and i made many errors. Then on the second day it clicked and I was at 90%. By the third day I was at 98-100%. I still hit A-7 against an A half the time.

Maybe Im wrong, but by reading your post it seems to me that the first thing you need to understand is that theres a difference between basic strategy and index plays.
    Basic strategy is the same for every game. It will be different for different set of rules, but it will be independant of the count you are using.
    Index plays are deviations from basic strategy and thats where the count that you are using comes into play.