Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: unsure about the basic strategy

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

unsure about the basic strategy

Hi everyone,

I am a beginner in blackjack and i bought "professional blackjack" from Stanford Wong and i just learned the basic strategy tables but something appears to me very odd, for instance why should i stand if i have a hard 12 and the dealer has a 4 ? (intuitively i would rather hit...)

Hope i made myself clear (i am french)

Bye

Jean

Basic Strategy is the best way to play the hands if all you know is your two cards and the dealer's upcard. The 12 vs 4 decision is a close one and if you are counting it is best to hit if the count is negative. It is important to thoroughly learn Basic Strategy before learning strategy variations based on the count.

Banned or Suspended

Hitting ALL 12's is not even such a bad idea.

As Card Counters we HIT 12 vs. 5 and 6 with just a slightly "negative" count.

0 out of 1 members found this post helpful. Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
    Quote Originally Posted by ZenMaster_Flash View Post

Hitting ALL 12's is not even such a bad idea.

As Card Counters we HIT 12 vs. 5 and 6 with just a slightly "negative" count.
    I dont think thats a good answer for the OP Flash.
    Independantly of the 12v4 thing, what he needs to understand is that second guessing basic strategy on account of "intuition" is not a smart thing to do.
    JEAN, if you are serious about playing blackjack you should start by erasing the word intuition from your dictionary.
    Theres no room for that when playing this game.
    If you keep reading and studying Im sure you are going to realize why.

Cher Jean,

Si vous tirez avec 12 v 4, vous perdez un peu plus de 21 pour cent de vos mises. Si vous tenez, vous perdez, dans l'ensemble, un petit peu moins de 21 pour cent. Donc, vous ne tirez pas !