Thread: torquecnvrtr: Lawrence Revere

torquecnvrtr

torquecnvrtr: Lawrence Revere

Just curious if "Playing Blackjack as a Business" by Lawrence Revere is worth reading. I'm a beginner looking for a place to start...I have started reading this book, understand it, but am unsure if i'm starting a good foundation here? What other book is a good beginner book?

Parker

Parker: Re: Lawrence Revere

> Just curious if "Playing Blackjack as a
    > Business" by Lawrence Revere is worth
    > reading. I'm a beginner looking for a place
    > to start...I have started reading this book,
    > understand it, but am unsure if i'm starting
    > a good foundation here? What other book is a
    > good beginner book?

Revere's book is a classic, and deserves a place in the library of anyone serious about blackjack and advantage play. However, it is badly dated.

Revere's win rates were overly optimistic, even for the deeply dealt single deck games that were common in that era (and all but nonexistant today). His bankroll suggestions are also much too low. Julian Braun's 60's era IBM mainframe is no match for a modern PC running a good simulation program such as CVData.

Revere also devotes most of a chapter to blasting Lance Humble, a former student of his whose only crime was to write a book of his own and develop some card counting systems that were better than Revere's.

Revere's writing style ("I am right, and anyone who disagrees with me is a liar, an idiot, or most likely both.") is unique, to say the least, and makes for an entertaining read.

A much newer and better book for the beginner would be Blackjack Bluebook II by Fred Renzey. Also recommended is Professional Blackjack, by Stanford Wong. It is also starting to show it's age a bit, but is still much more current than Revere's book. Both of these books are available from our Online Catalog (link at top of page).

bigplayer

bigplayer: it is not a good book