Thread: Syph: Counting, spreading, and Chapter 10...

Syph

Syph: Counting, spreading, and Chapter 10...

Hey!

Having trouble with the girlfriend so I started playing with numbers.

Am I correct in assuming that the betting spreads found in Chapter 10 (from BJA) where based on a gain-per-TC-point of .517%?

If so, can an optimal betting spread be generated for any count simply by dividing the bet by .517 and multiplying by the alternate count`s gain-per-TC-point (found by dividing the inner product by the sum of the squares of your respected count) to arrive at the optimal bet for that TC?

Good lord, I don`t believe I just posted that.

Hmm...let me try again. If I`m using the RPC, dividing by half decks, can I simply add .04% to all the optimal bet spreads from Chapter 10 and be happy?

Thanks for the feedback!

Cheers!
    Syph

(p.s. Norm, if you`re out there, I have a standing bet with my imaginary friend. I say that with full indexes, Uston`s +/- count will edge out Hi-Lo over a wide range of games due to the increased gain from the better Pe. He says I`m crazy, I say he`s nuts...who`s right?)

Norm Wattenberger

Norm Wattenberger: Uston +/-

> (p.s. Norm, if you`re out there, I have a
    > standing bet with my imaginary friend. I say
    > that with full indexes, Uston`s +/- count
    > will edge out Hi-Lo over a wide range of
    > games due to the increased gain from the
    > better Pe. He says I`m crazy, I say he`s
    > nuts...who`s right?)

Don't think I ever simmed Uston +/-. I entered the 150-200 indexes many years ago for CVBJ and gave them to Uston's publisher - and he lost them. I don't feel like doing it again:-) (If anyone has them I'd appreciate a copy.) Surely I would expect it to edge out Hi-Lo in single-deck. But which Hi-Lo? Remember the old Pro-BJ appendices had their own hundreds of Hi-Lo indexes. Hi-Lo has still got to win in shoes.

Don Schlesinger

Don Schlesinger: Re: Uston +/-

Simple answer: it depends!