Thread: roberto: playable pontoon game?

roberto

roberto: playable pontoon game?

I am travelling and unfortunatedly the "normal" BJ games are poor.
    there is a pontoon game, too, but i am not a pontoon expert. more precisely: i never played it.
    The rules:
    S17, 6D
    pontoon pays 2:1, but dealer wins pontoon ties
    5 card trick pays 3/2, dealer does not benefit from a five card trick, i.e. it is just a normal hand for dealer, player is paid at once his 5 card trick, including against dealer's Ace and ten
    double maximum 3 times with the original bet, i.e. double, if you like triple, if you like 4 times your original bet. just if you doubled on 2 cards, i.e. no double on 3 cards if you just hit 2 cards. double on any 2.
    ENHC
    RS3, including aces, A+10 is a pontoos after split, rehit aces after split, DAS
    no surrender
    dealer wins ties, including pontoon, but player's 5 card trick always wins 3/2
    Where can i find the basic strategy and the edge?

MGP

MGP: Re: playable pontoon game?

roberto

roberto: Thanks, but...

... the details are so different that i cannot estimate the edge.
    different details are:
    no rehit after double, but double 2 times more after the first double of each hand. I.e. buy one more card for one more bet, maximum till you have 4 bets on your hand.
    5 card trick pays just 3/2, but beats any dealer's card at once, including dealer's ace or 10 with a possible pontoon, and 5 card trick does not help dealer.
    Is there any software, internet page or book available? or anyone knows anything?

BJTr

BJTr: Re: playable pontoon game?

I play a similar game with better rules. The game is offered at 4 countries to my knowledge.
    My game is full ES but dealer Pontoon takes player 5 card and dealer 5 card wins player on pushes also when you have 4 cards less or equal to 11, can you double (mine can't)?
    I think your game has an EV of about breaking even with BS.

roberto