Thread: Which is a more playable game?

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Which is a more playable game?

I've been going somewhat back and forth on this one because I'm still learning how to balance the varying factors that make games 'playable' so a quick bit of advice here is much appreciated.

Which of these two games is more playable:

1. 6D, 1.5-2 D pen, S17, DAS, RSA, double 9-11 only, late surrender, 6 cards pays even money - $100 table max.
    2. 6D, 1-1.5 D pen, H17, DAS, RSA, double anything, late surrender, 7 cards pays even money - $250 table max.

Odds calculators obviously pick 1) as the best game. However, adding the following twist:

1. keeps the tables full (response to partial tables is almost immediate, e.g. closing them or replacing shoes with CSM's) and you will get pressured eventually if you're backcounting or wonging (not back-off pressure, but pressure to play).
    2. typical to be able to play with max 2-3 other people, and there's no pressure to play even if you sit and watch all night.

My gut experience has been that 2 actually ends up more playable but I'm curious what others here think because going by gut is not exactly the most rigorous approach.
    Last edited by TheBalanceOfJudgement; 03-20-2012 at 06:57 AM.

0 out of 1 members found this post helpful. Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
    Quote Originally Posted by TheBalanceOfJudgement View Post
    I've been going somewhat back and forth on this one because I'm still learning how to balance the varying factors that make games 'playable' so a quick bit of advice here is much appreciated.

Which of these two games is more playable:

1. 6D, 1.5-2 D pen, S17, DAS, RSA, double 9-11 only, late surrender, 6 cards pays even money - $100 table max.
    2. 6D, 1-1.5 D pen, H17, DAS, RSA, double anything, late surrender, 7 cards pays even money - $250 table max.

Odds calculators obviously pick 1) as the best game. However, adding the following twist: