See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Rookie mistakes you made as a Blackjack Player?

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Rookie mistakes you made as a Blackjack Player?

When I was a Rookie Blackjack Player, I got cocky and had two 10 Cards so 20. The Dealer had a single 10. I had chosen "Stand," and I thought I had it in the bag. To my horror, the Dealer turned over an ACE and I lost big money ($2,000) on what I thought was going to be a $2,000 profit for me.

1 out of 1 members found this post helpful. Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
    Quote Originally Posted by BlackjackPro View Post
    When I was a Rookie Blackjack Player, I got cocky and had two 10 Cards so 20. The Dealer had a single 10. I had chosen "Stand," and I thought I had it in the bag. To my horror, the Dealer turned over an ACE and I lost big money ($2,000) on what I thought was going to be a $2,000 profit for me.
    I don't understand. Why would you describe this as a "rookie mistake"? What could you have possibly done differently? You simply lost a 20 to a dealer blackjack. How does that qualify as a "mistake"?

Don

Quote Originally Posted by DSchles View Post
    I don't understand. Why would you describe this as a "rookie mistake"? What could you have possibly done differently? You simply lost a 20 to a dealer blackjack. How does that qualify as a "mistake"?

Don
    I consider it a mistake because of the cocky attitude I had and the fact that I lost $2,000 on a single hand.

I consider it a mistake because of the cocky attitude I had and the fact that I lost $2,000 on a single hand.
    Where do these people come from?