Thread: RJT: Don - recommendations for a good book on probability

RJT

RJT: Don - recommendations for a good book on probability

Hey Don and all here,
    I've been becoming more and more interested in the Mathematics of blackjack. Now i feel i have a solid grounding in the basics - i have a BSc in Mathematics and teach 13-18 year olds Maths - but it has been many years since i tackled anything more advanced than asyomtotic analysis and integration. I was wondering if you could recommend some good books to take me from the more basics to the more advanced concepts of probability theory which are relavent to the game?
    At the moment a lot of the likes of 'Theory of Blackjack' and 'Blackjack Attack' are indecipherable to me - the beauty of these books is that you don't need to understand them to put the results to good use, but i'd like to.
    Thanks in advance.

RJT.

Don Schlesinger

Don Schlesinger: Re: Don - recommendations for a good book on probability

> Hey Don and all here,
    > I've been becoming more and more interested in the
    > Mathematics of blackjack. Now i feel i have a solid
    > grounding in the basics - i have a BSc in Mathematics
    > and teach 13-18 year olds Maths - but it has been many
    > years since i tackled anything more advanced than
    > asyomtotic analysis and integration. I was wondering
    > if you could recommend some good books to take me from
    > the more basics to the more advanced concepts of
    > probability theory which are relavent to the game?
    > At the moment a lot of the likes of 'Theory of
    > Blackjack' and 'Blackjack Attack' are indecipherable
    > to me - the beauty of these books is that you don't
    > need to understand them to put the results to good
    > use, but i'd like to.
    > Thanks in advance.

> RJT.