Thread: wyrstle: High Negative Counts

wyrstle

wyrstle: High Negative Counts

I'm new to advantage play in the last six months and have been wondering if there is not an opportunity to be taken when playing multiple deck shoe games. (Typically 6 deck and 70% or better penetration in my particular case)

If early in the shoe (first or second deck) with a running count of say -12 or more, isn't the probability of the high cards beginning to appear to level out the count a place to take advantage by betting 2 or 3 units rather than just one ?

It seems that this must be wrong since I've not ever seen it mentioned by any of the experts but just what is the fallacy of this strategy ?

Don Schlesinger

Don Schlesinger: Re: High Negative Counts

> If early in the shoe (first or second deck)
    > with a running count of say -12 or more,
    > isn't the probability of the high cards
    > beginning to appear to level out the count a
    > place to take advantage by betting 2 or 3
    > units rather than just one?

You're confused. The high cards have negative tag values in count systems. With a RC of -12, high cards have already come out. The expectation is, therefore, for the low-valued cards to start appearing, which is bad for the player.

> It seems that this must be wrong since I've
    > not ever seen it mentioned by any of the
    > experts but just what is the fallacy of this
    > strategy?

See above.

Don

wyrstle

wyrstle: Asked properly this time

Oh Good Lord, yes I managed to ask precisely the opposite of what I wanted to. In fact the biggest obstacle I have had trying to move on from just basic strategy to counting, is that my brain has this overwhelming desire to treat high cards as being a good thing (positive/plus) and the small cards as bad (negative/minus).

Let me restate the question properly.